Autumn berries and blessings

Standard

image

Well, this beautiful rainbow brought a breath of fresh air amid the howling wind and rain that seems to be heralding the arrival of Autumn. So amazing. I am still stunned by beautiful rainbows after 33 years on this beautiful planet. My excitement seemed to rub off on little b as I spotted it from the window, swept her up like the speed of light and ran outside with her still in her vest into the rain! she seemed stunned and was shouting the colours that she knew at it. After grabbing her wellies I thought we’d make the most of this moment and spend some much needed time in the garden….

image

And I spotted that these little beauties were crying out for me to pick them!

image

Elderberries. I am lucky enough to have three elder trees….

image

B’s tree…

image

Big tree’s companion… And

image

And one that the birds like to flutter around in when raiding the bird table. Not all the berries are ripe yet, but we can’t hang about because we have some very greedy pigeons to compete with!

image

They strip the ripe berries as soon as they can. We had a good morning reaching the branches that we can and sampling a few as we went.

image

And managed to collect enough for now….

image

I’ll explain what I’m doing with them next time… We then went puddle splashing…

image

And took daddy to newstead abbey, where little b was thrilled to be able to explore this amazing bus, hired for a wedding that was there….

image

Today, we have been out foraging again in my surrounding area….

image

Blackberries this time, along the other side of our hedge and right the way down to the valley at the bottom of our hill…

image

Every time we go out walking at the bottom of our hill I feel truly, truly blessed. I love the hills, the fruit in the bushes…. We get sloe berries from here too…. The horses, the birds and the old windmill you can see at the top of our hill behind little b on the picture. I love windy hill. Whilst giving up my job has left us with less financially, nature provides an abundance for us and love blossoms everywhere.

image

We added more pinecones to our collection

image

And had a lovely time with b having a safe place to run around without seeing another soul around us.

image

And bringing home a pound of blackberries which are now in the freezer until I decide what to do with them. I truly love Autumn. It’s cosy, it’s fruitful and despite the weather, it’s heart warming. Xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

