Operation wet pants- day 2

Standard

image

Phew! I am very glad once again for a sit down during nap time. I feel like I am permanently stalking poor little b. She keeps eyeing me suspiciously as if to say ‘why the hell are you on my heels all the time! Give it a rest mum!’ but I can count on it that the minute I take my eyes off of her, she’ll present me with a fountain! Or worse… As she did as I was running the bath last night and believe me…. I’m just glad the upstairs carpet is as old as the house and will soon be ripped up!

Anyhow…. I am being negative…. I don’t mean to be as it’s just life isn’t it and every one of us on the planet has lead our own parents a merry dance doing exactly the same thing. One of the most eye opening things about having a child is realising what your own parents did for you…. The sleepless nights, the endless fatigue and the puddles!!!!! I’ve also always grown up knowing that I am loved and feeling very loved by my parents, but having my own child, It is only now, that I understand the full extent of my parents love for me as I think it’s something you can only feel when you have your own child.

I digress….

image

We have progress on day 2…. Little b is enjoying the endless amount of books and one to one time she receives from us both during wee wee time and I am pleased to say that she has spaced out her wees enormously from the previous day, which I am told, reassuringly from a more experienced mum that this is a sign of progress, that b is learning bladder control and is trying to hold it. Also, her nappy was dry after her nap. She has gone from every 15 minutes to every hour and it’s like clockwork!!!! The amazing thing is, I’ve figured out, and apologies for too much information here…. But, if I drink when b does, I pretty much need to go at the same time as b so it acts as a prompt! Bit of a tip to try there!

Other things then….

So, yesterday, I showed you my crocheted Autumn leaf…

image

Well, what will it be?

image

Autumn leaves on twigs! I saw this on pinterest and wanted to try it. I made my own leaf pattern though as I wanted them a little bigger. And I’m really pleased with how they turned out.

image

Firstly, chain 7

image

slip stitch into the second stitch from the hook, then slip stitch the next one, then do a half double crochet in the next two stitches.
In the following stitch, double crochet. Now, it should look like this

image

And you see where my scissors are pointing in the final stitch, you are going to do several double crochets in the same stitch, to create the rounded end of the leaf.

image

Keep going in the same stitch until you are level with where you started this…. The amount will vary, depending upon what wool you use.

image

Once you are level, in the next stitch, double crochet, in the next, half double. Now, you aren’t going to go all the way back up to the top, that way, you can make a nice pointy tip of the leaf so now, slip stitch in to the following stitch and again in the next.

image

Now, this next bit seems tricky, but it’s not and it will make the vein down the centre of the leaf. See where my scissors are pointing, it’s the hole between stitches. Poke your hook through the hole, grasp the yarn and bring it up and slip stitch. Now do this down all the holes down the middle until you meet the end.

image

image

Once you get to the end, fasten off and weave ends in.

When you put it on your twigs, if that’s what you intend to do…. Just poke the twig under where you’ve tied your knot. Poke the stick through a little more and secure again under a stitch near the top of the leaf.

image

And it should stay put!

image

I made a few extra to scatter around the base.

Right…. Continuing with my trim now for the next reveal!

image

Until then xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

