Friends

Standard

image

Well look at that! My lupins are popping up again. There’s a lot of late goings on in the garden at the moment. I’m really pleased to see these lupins as I sewed many little black seeds hoping for a bumper crop of them and they’ve been hugely disappointing. Only one flowered up until now. Many shot their leaves and stalks out of the earth and teased with such promise but unfortunately, amounted to nothing. These flowers remind me of childhood memories for some reason. I’m not sure if they were in my parents garden or not, but something feels vaguely familiar and very comforting and evocative about them.

image

Wonderful. And I’m going to collect their seeds and spread them around even further for next year.

image

I’m keeping little beebop out of her garden at the moment as it is teaming with the most toddler- tempting toadstools of many, many types.  I’m hoping that they will die off soon, but at the minute…. It’s a no go zone!

image

Aren’t these amazing!!!! Autumn crocus. Their colour is so vibrant I can’t take my eyes off of them. These are the only flowers that grew in our garden when we inherited it. 5 clumps of them and all the rest of the land was uncared for. Strange for a vicarage really.  They sit at the base of big tree and decorate his trunk. I’m going to attempt to split them up and spread them around for next year.

image

Mum and dad have gone away again and mum didn’t want these flowers to go to waste so I am enjoying them instead. What a feast for the eyes!

I’ve made another leaf hanging to go above them. This time, I didn’t use the sewing machine, I just hand stitched the leaves.

image

They look amazing in the sunshine.

image

We’ve had friends staying this weekend so I wanted to add a few welcoming, warming touches to the house.

image

I love the way that these pinecones look in my soup tourine!

image

And I went in the garden to find some nice berry stems to add some colour here….

image

And there…..

image

And who knew it!  Tea lights float!

image

And the berries look lovely against the candle.

image

We’ve had a lovely, lovely weekend seeing dear friends who live in a different county. Even though m was painting the bedroom they were to stay in at gone 4am on the day of their arrival!!!!
And little b is doing fantastic. Doing her little tiddles and poopoos in all different toilets out and about, holding her weewees for lengths of time and amazingly, she has started to use her voice to actually warn us now by saying ‘weewee’. I’m pretty sure that with the exception of the odd little accident here and there, she’s got it. Brilliant.  I’m so proud of her. Xx

Leave a Reply

