Kites and coughs

Standard

image

Ah! December is here…. Let the festivities begin! I just love the build up to Christmas. To me, it’s the best bit! I’ve made this happy little bit of festive cheer to put by my front door. It’s chalk, good old fashioned chalk, on a slate tile. I better stop pinching them from m’s stash or little b won’t have a roof for her garden house he is planning on building for her! I have been so busy making things and haven’t decorated the house yet…. So this is like a little festive peep into Christmas on windyhill. I will reveal all when we get around to trimming the house. I wanted to do it yesterday, but m is once again working incredibly hard at the moment, so it will wait…. It is very much a family affair. Even before little b came along and brightened our days. Speaking of the little monkey….

image

Just look at that little face!!! She is mesmerised, looking at her kite flying above her….

image

High up in the sky! We made this kite at rufford abbey in October and its fabulous! Only takes the slightest bit of a breeze to get it air born and is so robust!

image

That’s our big old ash in the picture….and our house behind the hedge… We popped up to see aunty s and asked if we could fly it in her field. It was so bumpy and boggy up there after the horses have been in it that little b struggled to remain upright!

image

She had a wonderful time though… Short and sweet as it was late afternoon and so, so cold.

image

We flew it until the Sun was sinking low and then went home to warm up by the fire.

image

I am getting the hang of this fire building business now!!

image

Hot orange and honey was the flavour of our warming drink today…. Little b has a hacking cough. I found a recipe online for some tonic that we’ve been trying out. It seems to banish the nasty cough for a good hour or so….

image

And looks a very pretty shade in a jam jar. As you know, I’m all for natures way and would much rather give this to b than counter medicines. The recipe then…. 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne 1/4 teaspoon of ginger 1 tablespoon of cider vinegar 2 tablespoons of water 1 tablespoon of honey. Now, I didn’t have any cider vinegar so I used white wine vinegar and it worked fine. Also, the cayenne pepper made me nervous, but it’s not hot at all in the tincture and little b doesn’t seem to mind it. So…. Dissolve the vinegar, cayenne, ginger and water together. I used boiled water. Add your honey and give it a good shake! Simple! It makes a small quantity, so it won’t go off and is enough for a week. I got this recipe from http://Nancyvienneau.com and she has some great ideas on her page. Little b managed to ignore her cough long enough to savour her first ever advent calendar opening!

image

After talking about the picture and the concept of Christmas yet again…. (really trying to explain it all so carefully over the past month) we looked at the numbers, found number 1 and she was so thrilled that the door opened, let alone that there was a chocolate there for her! Bless her heart…. We don’t have chocolates, sweets or biscuits in our house and she loved it! She sat kissing it in between minute nibbles!

image

Look what I discovered…. Clear baubles! I’ve got 6 to play with and here in the first one, I have put some roses in it that I dried from a bouquet I was bought when b was born from her uncle r. What a smashing little momento for years to come and I can’t wait to see it all glistening in the twinkly lights on the tree. Well…. I look forward to a festive post very soon, hopefully, when m wrestles with all the boxes in the loft…. You know how it is! Until then xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

