Christmas has landed!

Standard

image

Well…. I think we are just about there. Christmas has landed and I absolutely love it. This year is so extra special and magical because of our little treasure. She is fascinated by the whole thing and is now putting several words together, her favourite sentence being – ‘Santa, pop, down, chimney mummy!’ Yes my little love he most certainly will!!!! Here she is decorating our tree with her daddy….

image

But it soon turned in to fun and frolicking around….

image

I love putting the Christmas music on, making the hot chocolate and just enjoying the cosy atmosphere of our happy home.

image

Finally, after much rearranging of b’s handiwork, the tree is finished.  We usually have a star at the top, but this year, tucked away was someone I haven’t seen in years…. Not since I was a little girl….

image

Our childhood Christmas angel. She is a beautiful angel and I am very much enjoying her watching over things from up there.

image

Our Christmas book list sits pretty underneath the tree, and since I last mentioned them, ive started taking the book upstairs to read in the rocking chair. It’s working much better.

image

And look who arrived on to our tree the night we put it up! Our very own Christmas elf.  I like the idea of elf on a shelf, but I wanted a more original elf and my lovely mum bought us this little fella. He flew down our chimney on Christmas tree night and hid in the tree with a letter to little b. Every night, he pops back up the chimney and reports back to Santa the goings on at windyhill.  He then reappears elsewhere each morning for b to find.

image

This is his very first letter to my little friend, asking her to name him. She has lovingly and enthusiastically done so and he is called ‘aroo’!

image

In the box where I found the angel hiding was my childhood nativity set.  I’ve borrowed it from mum and dad to try to teach little b what Christmas is all about. I’m absolutely astonished with how she is grasping all this and is not even 2 yet. She knows what all the characters are called and is taking it all in. 

image

And just near to Joseph and Mary are my lovely little Christmas house lanterns. I love them so much.

Whilst we are mentioning the religious side of things, here is a little Pinterest inspired felt nativity scene ive made.

image

Our entrance hall is like a little wonderland also….

image

And the stairs which desperately need modernising are decorated in garlands that I made last year.

image

Little b has a mischievous side though and knows that berries are out of bounds when we are out and about, so instead likes to pretend to eat these berries to make us react!
Cheeky!!

image

My house, being a 1970’s relic, has many archways, which I am beginning to like! Not love, but, growing gradually fond of. Mainly, because they are easy targets to dangle things from! Poor m!!!!  Above are my crochet snowflakes I made last year. I got the pattern from attic24, a blog by Lucy, an amazingly creative crochet expert that I love to read.

image

Another archway attacked! This time with Christmas fabric….

image

Made in to bunting.

image

See what I mean about the archways!!! It’s a love/hate situation! I think if I didn’t decorate them so often, I’d hate them.

image

And this hangs on the end of them. M’s mum had 3 boys and made each of them one of these advent pouches when they were little boys, hence it having pride of place.

image

B seems to enjoy playing with her little felt tree I made for her….

image

And these gorgeous little knitted characters.

image

Lovely aren’t they….

image

And to think how much effort has been put in to making them.

image

My happy little wreath is still sitting pretty…

image

And a little fairy has landed in my lavender!

image

That just leaves this years creation for the fire…. My Christmas stocking garland.

image

I’m very proud of it….

image

And enjoy them fluttering with the fire lit.

image

It’s just card,backed with fabric and decorated.

Well….
Until I gather some holly from the garden and make a nice candle arrangement with it, that’s it….. For now….. I still have my lovely Christmas fabric I am making something super special with and then I can finally finish the gifts I am making. Phew!!!!!

You’ll have to forgive my indulgence in showing all of this, but this blog was started, after-all, to be an evocative diary for b to look at when she’s older.

Many, many Christmas wishes to all of you, all over the world. May your days be merry and bright.
Xxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

