Looking forward to spring

Standard

Hello there lovely world.
It’s been a lovely week…. My birthday came and went… My mums birthday…. B’s great gramps birthday, pancake day came (the day before lent begins, we make pancakes here in the u.k. It’s called shrove Tuesday) and finally, valentines day.  I’m sorry I’ve not been writing very much lately, my life has taken a slight turn and I have less time these days.

image

Where to begin then…. How about a picture of my little beauty. Growing fast, right before my eyes and getting funnier and more amazing every day.

image

I’ve been making lots of cards for valentines day and have been very busy keeping up with them on my facebook page.

image

Hearts…

image

Hearts…

image

Hearts….

image

And more hearts!

image

Flowers,

image

Love birds, and….

image

Brooches.

image

I finally got some little stickers made for my gifts and things have been beginning to snowball.

image

I’ve had orders for my little crochet cupcake birthday cards,

image

And seem to have had my hook in my hand at every opportunity.

image

We had a massive downpour of snow again, which once again, caused havoc. And being the strange country we are, it was gone again the next day!

image

We had yummy, scrummy pancakes on shrove Tuesday, which are nothing like American pancakes, but more like French crepes.

image

Here is our recipe on windy hill for pancakes…

Beat two eggs with a little water and add a pinch of salt.
Add 3 tablespoons of plain flour and mix well.
Add milk until it is runny, but not watery.
Add a splash of oil.
Heat your pan with oil in it until it is extremely hot.
Add a ladle of the mix and spread around the pan.
When it is set, flip the pancake over.  It should brown on both sides nicely.

image

Serve with orange juice or lemon juice and lots of sugar for a traditional pancake. M prefers chocolate spread and orange. Many people like golden syrup. I love traditional orange and sugar. Yum!

image

I decided to get happy with my glue gun on valentines day.  I got an old wire coat hanger and bent it to a heart shape. I then searched around me for any odd bits of crochet I’d made, and any pretty little bits and pieces.

image

I found a peacock feather, some beads and hearts, bows and broken necklaces and lots of pinecones.

image

I stuck them all on within an hour!

image

The back is not very neat, but not to worry.

image

I absolutely love it! It’s bright and cheerful and I love the mishmash of styles.

image

Last time I went to the scrap store in Nottingham, I picked up a load of fake leather squares in different colours.  I decided to make lots of hearts.  Quite a long task as I had to draw each one and cut them out as I don’t have a heart cutter. 

image

I strung them together and….

image

Ta-da!!! I love it!!!  So much so that I think it might have to stay!

image

It was an amazing moment today. I got my first load of washing for the year on the washing line.  Strangely, I love hanging washing out on the line. Maybe because of the birds singing, I don’t know…. But I love it!  I especially loved it today. The weather has been mild this past few days and it has been refreshing for my soul!  I love curling up in front of the fire during cosy, cold afternoons and hibernating with my little friend, baking and such like. But today and yesterday, I have been able to spend some time outside and I felt like a seed growing. I felt life twitching in my feet and getting ready to take over my body with the promise of the warmer weeks ahead. I wanted to go on day trips, play all day outside and tend to my garden.

image

I repaired bs windmills which have taken a beating in the snow,

image

And whilst b played on the slide and the swing, I took some pictures of my garden, twitching slowly to life, like my feet!

image

My Easter plant has flowers…

image

My primroses are starting to bloom,

image

And last year, I re-planted lots of Montbreacher all around the garden and it is starting to peep up above the earth.

image

And I found a lot of bulbs when m was digging and re-homed them. To my delight, a little snow drop has risen.

image

Now, I’m going to share something with you here…. I have a bit of a thing about snowdrops.  We all go through trying times, and Several years ago I was having one of these moments. I took myself off for a walk one day on a very, very frosty day and it suddenly struck me that no matter what is troubling you or causing you anguish, it always works out ok. With absolute certainty, it will always, always be ok. And do you know what made me realise this? A beautiful snow drop.  The little thing had to fight its way through the hardest ground and is so delicate itself to cope with these conditions. It isn’t a fight though, it is effortless. It does it with ease and certainty because that is it’s purpose.  At that moment I thought about all the little birds that don’t fret about where their food is coming from during the harsh, winter days, they simply rely on their instincts. And so, when times are tough, we need to trust that our instincts will lead us in the right direction, and just focus on the moment we are in without worrying about the days ahead.  Easier said than done, I know, but that is why I love snowdrops.

image

There are buds everywhere, some will surprise me as they grow…

image

Some I recognise….

image

Like my lovely lupins! It is only their second year since I planted those lovely black seeds and here they are already!

image

My Burberry is budding a brilliant hue of burgundy….

image

And I am eagerly looking forward to my Forsythea blooming it’s sunny flowers very soon. Whilst I love the arrival of spring, it is equally nice anticipating it.

Goodnight and god bless xxxxxx

Leave a Reply

