Poorly bugs and spring chicks

Standard

image

Last weekend, my little friend was a happy, jolly soul. Making trains and getting poor tinky to be the driver….

image

Then, swapping places….

image

And now! Yuck, yuck, yuck! That dreadful, nasty virus that she had at Christmas returned and has wiped her out. The poor little mite is wearing us all out because of her coughing fits and ensuing hysteria in the night. Oh my goodness! I have my eucalyptus burning, frankincense drops on her Jimjams and am running out of rescue remedy fast! My trusty Vicks on the feet (it’s a vapour rub we have in the UK) isn’t working! Aaaaaaaaaa! It must be bad, that always works!!! We are all very, very tired! Last night was not so bad and I sense an improvement. Thank goodness. My little pleasant friend has turned into a shouting, impatient, wingeing goblin!!!

image

What we needed was a distraction. Hallelujah! A bolt of inspiration zapped me. I remembered we had just bought two annual passes to a very local farm park near us. We got well wrapped up and went to see the animals!

image

What a welcome relief! And what a lovely time we had. These little goats are so very gentle when you feed them. B hasn’t quite got the hang of holding a flat hand out with the food, instead, she takes individual pellets and pokes them in their mouths. They didn’t seem to mind! One cheeky little chops got impatient though and just grabbed the bag, tearing a big hole in it! Naughty little thing!

image

We like the baby chick room. There’s lots of very young chicks keeping warm in there and there is an incubator with newly hatched chicks which we were mesmerised with.

image

Here are the little fellows, starting out on their journey on our beautiful planet. They looked so floppy and I felt sorry for them that there was no mummy in there for them to snuggle up to or depend upon.

image

This egg was a great source of interest. We sat watching it wiggle and the membrane on the hole was going in and out with the little chicks breathe.

image

It all gave me some inspiration really and I set about making my little egg cosies. I love these little ducklings and can’t wait to start the sweet little girl one with her pretty bonnet.

image

I then got cracking on some mothers day cards for my facebook page. Things have really taken off on there!

image

I only put them on there today and I’ve sold two of these already.

image

As I was coming up the stairs this afternoon to wake my sleeping princess up, I had to take this picture and share it with you. I absolutely love the way the little hearts I made make such pretty shadows. Lovely!

image

Well, I really ought to get myself out of this bath before I shrink. Goodnight xxxxxxx

One response »

Leave a Reply

