Hello sunshine

Standard

Aaaaaaaaaa! Aaaaaaaaaaa! Can you feel that? Can you feel that golden warmth on your face from the early spring sunshine? Aaaaaaaa! It is wonderful!!!! Hello, lovely world! The sun has got his hat on, hip hip hip hooray! It’s still cold, but if you find a sheltered spot and sit back for a moment, it’s wonderful.

image

Little b and I have been out and about in it when ever we can. Here is a rare shot of us together… Usually it’s me behind the camera. If you look really closely at the big rock behind us, you can see the ice at the bottom of it from the waterfall. This is at newstead abbey. It’s a wonderful place to visit,right on our doorstep. It’s where lord Byron lived and was once a monastery. It has secret gardens and passageways that delight little b, peacocks that impress us all and a lovely, warm cafe that does a nice cup of tea!

image

Here’s little b, entranced by the water falling in front of her eyes and absorbing the immense noise of the cascading water.

image

And here she is entranced by her favourite programme in my necklace that ive taken downstairs to re-use the pearls for my crafty projects. Anyhow…. Speaking of little projects… I have a couple of things to share with you today, firstly….

image

Apologies, it’s a bit fuzzy, but do you have children and have any of these spare? Plug guards? Why? …. They make incredible……

image

Playdough people! Ah! We had fun making these. Just draw what you want on them and they satisfyingly poke into playdough beautifully!

image

We also made some to create Mr potato head style faces….

image

And b had a lovely new experience with the usual playdough.

image

I’ve been really busy, making all sorts of greeting cards. I’m doing my first ever craft fair in July so need to get on with it!

image

Rainbows….

image

Cherries….

image

Bunnies …. (I got a bit broody making these! )

image

Bears…… Ah!

image

Birds….

image

And houses……

image

But mostly, I’ve been making lots of flower cards….

image

And I’m going to show you how to do these little flowers too!

image

Firstly, my hook is a 3.5 and I chained 7. Now, join to the first stitch with a slip stitch, this forms the central ring.

image

Now, chain 1 and then do 4 treble crochets (US trebles…. Yarn over twice…. I learned how to crochet from American clips on youtube.)

image

Now single crochet into the ring, and you have your first petal.

image

Repeat this 5 times for 5 beautiful petals.

image

And then slip stitch into the chain 1 of the first petal that you made. Done!

image

And all of these little flowers turned into….

image

Lovely cards. You could put them on hats, bags, all sorts! Well, sleepy time is almost over for my little friend and I am going to have a quick play with a little owl applique pattern I’ve got. Have a beautiful, sunny day, wherever you are, and if it’s cloudy…. Stay sunshiney in your heart xxxxxxx

One response »

Leave a Reply

