Homemade jammy dodgers

Standard

image

Good evening! It’s snowy, snowy, snowy, snowy here today and there’s no relent just yet.  I love it! Although I wish the bitter wind would drop so that we can play in it a little more.  The wind is fierce and biting. Chills our fingers almost immediately and takes the pleasure out of the play we could do.
Still…. I have found a secret weapon to keeping warm with my budleia bombs as I call them.

image

A month back, I trimmed down one of my budleia and it had really strong, straight sticks which I saved to use as plant props for the summer….

image

Something told me to put aside the tops and my goodness! It was a great idea.

image

These bristley, brushy  flower tops make the most amazing tinder for your fires. If you put these on top of the newspaper under your kindling they are like little fireworks in there!  As you know, our stove is a massive part of our homelife and has a hypnotic and soothing effect on us all. It is part of our routines, waking little b up in the afternoon, light a fire and cosy up….. Get little b out of the bath, take Jimjams downstairs and sit infront of the fire on the rug. Put b in bed and m and I snuggling up whilst it dries our clothes and ever-so rarely….

image

I get a moment with it on my own. This was literally 5 minutes of peace and oh my. It was wonderful!
I often think that if they could measure the soothing effects of fires somehow, it would have scientific similarities with tranquilisers.  Enough….

What have I been up to?

image

I have seedlings!

image

Seedlings….

image

Galore!  I am tending to them and looking forward to potting them on to encourage their glorious blooms.

image

I decided to tackle a strip of land that I doubt has been touched in 20 years. Oh my…. This stretch is as long as my house and after 4 back breaking days, pulling the most established roots up….

image

I have decided that the size of a worm is a direct consequence of how long it has been undisturbed.  There are some massive, I mean MASSIVE worms there!

image

My little friend and I have been baking again and the little apron here that I made last year has split.  But look!!!!!

image

Look what has come via our friendly post man this morning! The most gorgeous, vintage style aprons for my little one.

image

So beautifully made,

image

And so pretty! I want one for myself!!!
A wonderful lady can be found on facebook called talula button who made them and you can find her via my windyhill days page.

image

And what were we baking? Muffins with coconut icing…. Really need some tips on squeezing it out though …. And shortbread jammy dodgers and I wanted to share the latter with you as they are scrumptious!

So here we are….

Ingredients-

175g plain flour
Pinch of salt
75g icing sugar
125g unsalted butter
1 egg
Jam of your choice – I used strawberry

Method-

Sift the flour, patt and icing sugar into a bowl.

Cut the butter into small pieces and rub in to the flour until it resembles bread crumbs.

Whisk the egg and add it to the dry ingredients.

Now, wrap the dough in cling film and pop in the fridge for an hour.

Preheat the oven to 170 c or gas mark 3

Divide the dough into two equal parts and roll out.

Use a pastry cutter to make your bases and lids.

Get a teeny tiny cutter to cut out a shape in the middle of the lids.

Put your bases in the oven for 15 minutes then remove and spread on plenty of jammy goodness.

Now add your lids and cook exp a further? 10mins or until golden.

Be very, very careful!!!! When they come out, they are the hottest things you’ve ever held and don’t eat them until they are cool for goodness sakes.

Well, enjoy these yummy little treats and have a cosy and happy week.

Love to you all xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

