Chick chick chick chick chicken

Standard

Well, my lovely, lovely, lovelies.
For the first time in two weeks I have sat down in the evening…. Not until 10pm  mind, but currently, I am sat!

image

…. With a rather large ladybird tent at my feet!

What has been keeping me so busy? And ravaging my hands to ribbons?

Dig

Dig

Dig

Digging in the garden…. In wind, rain and shine, all for a special reason.

image

My natural area is lovely, but thick with brambles and totally beyond use. But!!

image

I have raked and dug, pulled roots and been scratched to death….

image

And cleared a sizeable, triangular space for a specific season.

image

And from my window, I can see more of the view now. Lovely.

image

My lovely little neighbour has been keeping me company and….

image

I’ve seen beautiful Sunsets and….

image

Sunset rainbows.

But, why?  Well…. All this effort has been for a wonderful new chapter of life on windyhill…. For these little beauties….

image

Ginger, a red warren hen….

image

Sweety, a white Sussex star….

image

And two speckledy’s…. Bunny and hop!

Mmmm…. Strange names, but thanks to b, this is what we are calling them.

image

Aren’t they lovely!  They are all very young, only 20 weeks old. Barely been on the planet!

image

And yet, their instincts show them a great deal of wisdom.

image

We have inherited a coop and run and it sits lovely….

image

And the hens all seem to look at home.

image

Little b loves them! Especially ginger who lets us pick her up and stroke her…

image

It’s only day 1 with our feathered friends, but it’s been a lovely day. I just hope I get some sleep and avoid dreaming nasty fox related dreams!

image

And poor tinky!!!! Here she is, the other side of the little gate. She’s had her nose pressed underneath it all afternoon!

image

We are in for some fun when they finally meet!

So, I am a total novice and have a lot to learn, but it’s going to be a lovely learning journey.

Night night xxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

