1 year!

Standard

Happy birthday to me! I have been writing about my comings and goings on windyhill for 1 year today!  my first post featured ginger bread from the lakes, and seeing as my parents have just got back from there and bought us some more, it seems the appropriate thing to do!

image

And how things have changed in a year! My extremely talented and creative partner in crime has left his teaching career. He is like a bird that has just discovered that he has wings.  I am so extremely proud of him and am intrigued by watching his new opportunities evolve.
image

I’ve been doing my hanging baskets and I have a little tip for you about watering them which makes things much easier.
image

I’ve put them everywhere this year. On posts….
image

On the dustbin cover….
image

And along the fencing around little b’s garden….

image

image

I’ve put some trailing nasturtiums in them all this year and can’t wait for the orange flowers to bloom.
image

And this one has a tomato plant in the middle,
image

And this one strawberries!
So…. Here is the tip. When you use a watering can and your basket is high up, it’s heavy and difficult. I don’t know about you, but I always end up covered in water. I saw my neighbour doing this and I had to share it as it is so simple!

image

Wash out your milk carton well. One with a handle is ideal as it is much easier to lift up high.
image

Make some holes in the top and there you have it! I’ve done this before so that b can water the flowers without getting an arm full of water. I don’t know why I haven’t thought of it before!
image

I’ve made this little display for by my front door and it looks lovely next to my painted stool!
image

And I’ve made pots to brighten up our back door area too!
image

image

image

And it looks so much brighter than last year.
image

And ive put lots of pots along my office!!
image

And I am so pleased with the outside table since I’ve painted it and released it from the shackles of brown!
image

And this pretty jug of plants sets it off nicely.
image

These are my neighbours pots that I have to water at the moment. Mmmm…. Flower envy setting in!!! Aren’t they gorgeous.

And so after ive done watering all of these and the flowers in the garden and the veggies, and the seedlings in the greenhouse. it takes nearly an hour!
image

Quiz time! Can anyone tell me what these are? They self set a couple of years ago and I have taken bits off of them and planted them around as I really like them!
And also,
image

Anyone know what this bush is? Here is a close up of the flowers…
image

Such lovely beauty all around at the minute. It’s so wonderful being outside and enjoying it all. I feel like I need my fix of outside time everyday, like a magnetic pull!
Nothing is as beautiful as this little blossom though…. Painting away again in her garden whilst I sit for a moment.

image

And that’s what I love to look at the most xxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

