Feeling the heat

Standard

image

Red sky at night, shepherds delight.
We are enjoying a very hot and pleasantly unusual heatwave here in England at the moment.  The weather has been unbroken sunshing for two weeks now and it is wonderful. It seems to be getting hotter and hotter and hotter.
Now, I know our weather is nothing compared to the heat in some of your countries but for us, it is sweltering!

image

Little b is keeping cool with ice creams, homemade icepops and paddling pools. Lazy afternoons where we poddle around at home…. In the garden and in the house.

image

Look at big tree, lapping up the azure sky above, swaying around gently and offering us all, chickens gratefully included, some much needed shade.

image

My little friend has discovered my raspberries! I’ll be very lucky if any manage to make it into our kitchen this year….

image

She eats them green and red! She’s  really not fussy!

image

Reaching up high on her little tippy toes and teaching the chickens that these prickly bushes hide juicy treats!

image

I wish I could capture the acrobatic antics that these little ladies do to jump up and reach the raspberries.

image

There are handfuls all over the canes this year, and earlier than last year too.

image

My roses are so beautiful and smell so invigorating that it seems such a shame when I dead head them to throw the beautiful petals away.  I have a plan!
I need six pints of petals, here is my first….

image

I’m freezing them in bags until I have enough and then?
Rose petal wine!  I am hoping it will be a success and will keep you up to date!

image

Excuse the neglected toenails here, but I have had an injury!
I dropped a sleeper on my foot and obviously was wearing totally inappropriate footwear. Ouch!

image

Several frozen pea sessions later and a trip to a and e, I am pleased to say that it’s not broken. Oooo, it made my eyes water but it’s on the mend now.  It’s a good job it was a sleeper actually, as half an hour previous, I was moving all of these into place!

image

You see, I have something I am extremely, extremely excited about…. My very own shed! Ooo I can’t wait to paint it and trail a rose up it and decorate it with bunting and hang a basket from it and….. Ok, you see how much I am excited about this. It is going to house my gardening tools, furniture projects and crafty bits and pieces. I need to buy some mouseproof boxes though first and I really need some shelves but Rome wasn’t built in a day was it.
Well, I’m going to research roses a little more now. I had a pruning lesson the other night from my dad but want to know a little more.

Take care my friends and have a sunshiney day, whatever the weather xxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

